When it is too hot to work outside, this is what I have been doing inside, just for fun. I love old buttons. The woven scraps are from a blouse cuff, pillowcase edging, handkerchiefs, a tea towel, a linen hand towel, a table scarf, laces, and the button strip of an old blouse.

Button flowers_1
Button Flowers #1

But early in the morning and after 6:00 in the evening I try to do the outdoor stuff. I count cutting the grass as part of the “gardening.” These flowers are annual larkspur. The seed has been handed down for decades. I only have success if I pinch off the dry seed heads and sprinkle them around now, not in the spring.

 Annual Larkspur

I am taking apart this little bed because it doesn’t get enough sun and tree roots are taking all the nutrients and water.

Leave a Reply

