Many of the projects that I do are for clients. There are preferences, there are guidelines, there are goals, and there’s a timer. The project in process that is pictured below is mine, for me, and whoever else gets to enjoy it. The work is guided by the colors, the shapes, the stitches and whatever feels right to me. It makes such a wonderful balance to the work that I “have to do.” All the fabrics here are colored by me with materials from nature. The thread is commercial silk…such a glow. Here is my progress:

I've lost count of the stars!
I’ve lost count of the stars!

I am back to the circle within the square. The white sliver of something in the left corner is soap. Used for marking on the wool, it comes off easily, never leaving anything behind like chalk does.

2 thoughts on “Letting the Project Guide the Work

Leave a Reply

