On January 1 I began this experiment with rusty objects (see post below).  I waited 36 hours so that the light would be good for the photographs.  I am not thrilled with what I got, but it is my first attempt.  The vinegar acted very quickly and lots of lovely, nasty rust came off the objects…mostly nails.  I won’t be able to use them again until some more rust builds up.  Wonder if I should bury them for a while?

Again, this is raw silk that was previously dyed with chemical dyes – a pinkish orange color.  These rusty objects and vinegar and water were left outdoors (40-60 degree variation) for 36 hours with a plastic cover.

This was before I washed it.

Leave a Reply

