I have not really travelled very much.  And yet, I made this map and discovered that I have been in 58% of the states of this country.  I can see that the area west of the Mississippi has been greatly neglected.  That encourages me to think about seeing the ones that I have not visited yet.  I cannot begin to count the times I have been to Kentucky because my grandparents lived in Lexington, and now my brother and daughter live there.  I could probably figure out the Florida visits; there were a good many because we took family vacations there for a while.  Texas is a place I am not inclined to visit again; not really great memories of all those trips.  And the only ones I did not sleep in were Maryland, Iowa, Indiana, and New Hampshire.  Not too bad for an under-travelled girl. 

Try it yourself at this website: http://douweosinga.com/projects/visited?region=usa

Thanks to my sister-in-law, Terri, for this link.

2 thoughts on “States in USA that I have been in

  1. It’s funny what we think we remember, and what shows up when we actually look at what we remember systematically.

    You have been to more states than I have – but you cheated. You were in the northeast! All those states are little and packed in together! 🙂 It is a long trip from western Montana, through Idaho, along the Washington/Oregon border, and halfway down California, I tell you what.

    Hugs!
    Terri

  2. Thanks for the link. Art and I both did the exercise. I have been to less than 30 states and I do not remember his number, but more than nine.

Leave a Reply

